Seize the Opportunity

Surfing the television stations today and I saw a commercial of a campaign ad concerning the unemployment rate.

This is my opinion and analysis on the matter. There are jobs available. I believe their where a lot of people who lost high paying salary jobs.

Since most companies never thought about rainy days, there budgets where high and some over spent. So when Wall Street (the heart of our financial institutes) shook the shift trickled down to the companies. Therefore, causing layoffs. Don’t get me wrong, some companies stayed above water and survived even in the hard times. There are even some companies that did not skip a beat from the downward spiral and are still prospering as I write (good management).

I am positive there are many jobs available, the issue is salaries the companies are now offering. My reason for saying that is I have seen many ads on a daily basis of job openings.

A friend of mine lost their eighty thousand a year job. They have been unemployed now for two years and unemployment benefits are about to be exhausted. There have been two job offers, both are under what they previously earned. And to my surprise they turned down both offers. Why? The response was they felt they would be settling and they knew they were worth more. That maybe true, but my thought was unemployment benefits does not match your earned salary. Therefore, the offer of fifty-two thousand a year still would be better than what you are receiving in benefits.

Bottomline: The market is filled with jobs. It is just the individual not wanting to settle for less and the company not wanting to offer what they previously offered. I leave you with my infallible quote: ” A few dollars are better than zero dollars”. Selah!

2 thoughts on “Seize the Opportunity

  1. I can relate. I was unemployed and my benefits were not remotely close to what I had been earning. I did except a job offer making less than I did before, but the upside to the job is yes it’s less money than my previous job, yet its five times more than my unemployment check. Great post. You have inspired me to keep searching.

  2. Great post! I have struggled with that issue as well. You have made me rethink an offer that is on the table as I write. I’m going to except the offer and in the mean time I’ll continue to seek as I work. Thanks a bunch!!!

Leave a Reply

