VALLEY OF DECISION

Presently in the valley of decision.

My family and I always plan our vacations a year in advance. I always keep a paper trail, meaning I will not ask anything without putting it in writing. The reason for that is people seem to get amnesia when you do a follow-up.

I requested vacation March 2012 and I received a returned email from my manager saying: “well that’s not a good date for me you need to change the date.”

It upset me to the point that I asked what do you mean not good day for you? I have three weeks of vacation and I thought vacation is to be taken when you wanted. She did not respond nor did she say yes or no.

So, I go on as usual paid my part for my trip. Then I had a thought I need to make sure these dates are approved. Sent an email today and she sends me what I call a nasty gram…LOL

This is what it said: ” I ASKED YOU TO GET IT CHANGED. I CAN’T HAVE YOU GONE AT THAT TIME. LOOK BACK AT MY EMAIL AND YOU WILL SEE WHAT I SAID. YOU NEVER GOT BACK WITH ME SO I FIGURED YOU WERE WORKING ON A DIFFERENT DATE. ANY OTHER TIME BUT NOT THEN. SORRY”. Still she has not given me a good reason for not being able to take time off.

So, I’m in the valley of decision mode quit or not quit.

I also need to inform you that I needed surgery last year and I was told I needed to pick another day because they were going to be on vacation. Mind you I have nothing to do with my managers job…LOL!!!

I reported it to HR, but I had already changed the date so there was nothing they could do. I made a promise to myself I will never alternate another day when needing to take time off.

If anyone is out there and read this blog please give me your input on this matter. It will be greatly appreciated.

QUIT OR STAY that is the question.

Coretta

4 thoughts on “VALLEY OF DECISION

  1. Hello Coretta,

    Sorry that you are having to deal with this issue. My personal oppinion is “Quit” my reason is, because what if something else comes up and it’s not good for her either. I can’t see changing dates everytime I request time off. I say in the mean time look for another job and stay positive something will come through for you. I hope this helps. Best wishes!

    Candice

  2. Coretta, I know things will work out for you wheter you quit or stay. If you quit, I would say according to your faith, if you ask, beleive and receive it will be yours. By faith just know a job will be available for you. Beleive and you shall receive!

Leave a Reply

